Book Club: If you like The Night Watch by Sarah Waters, then you’ll love…

Those lovely folks at Waterstones in York have put together a suggested reading list to those of you who love The Night Watch.

Whiskey When We’re Dry by John Larison

A Western like no other, this is the story of Jess who must disguise herself as a boy in order to track down her brother. It’s a tale of love and loss of both other people and oneself. There’s gun-slinging action and moments of poignant reflection, creating a story that will remain with you a long time.

 

Transcription by Kate Atkinson

During the Second World War, eighteen-year-old Juliet is being pulled into the cloak-and-dagger world of espionage. Atkinson brilliantly crafts a tale that shows how the past always comes to find us. A spy story to rival Le Carré, full of Atkinson’s usual cleverness and charm.

 

The Warlow Experiment by Alix Nathan

The newest and boldest piece of work historical fiction has seen for while, The Warlow Experiment is as sinister and macabre as Gothic classics such as Frankensteinand Jekyll and Hyde. Nathan works history into her novel so well, it’s hard not be taken there as you read.

 

The Children’s Book by A.S Byatt

A gorgeous and heart-breaking novel set prior to the First World War, its characters go from imaginative and excitable children, to adults hurtling towards tragedy. It explores suffrage, sexuality and growing up with sensitivity and beauty. The perfect book for lovers of stories.

 

The Moss House by Clara Barley

A brand new novel which explores the relationship between ‘Gentleman Jack’ Anne Lister and Ann Walker. Well-researched and brilliantly executed, full of local Yorkshire character.

 

Compiled by Cat McMillan, Waterstones, York

 


 

The Original Theatre Company and York Theatre Royal in association with Peter Stickney present

THE NIGHT WATCH

From the international number one best-selling author Sarah Waters

Adapted by Hattie Naylor

National Tour Autumn 2019

The Night Watch is the thrilling and beautiful story from the award-winning, number one best-selling author, Sarah Waters (Tipping the Velvet, The Paying Guest and The Little Stranger).

London in the 1940s. A time when hearts beat faster and life burned more brightly. The Night Watch is a tender, tragic and beautifully poignant portrait of four ordinary people caught up in the aftermath of an extraordinary time.

Olivier-nominated playwright Hattie Naylor creates a gripping and theatrically inventive adaptation of this great modern novel. From the team that brought you Birdsong, The Habit of Art and The Importance of Being Earnest this eagerly anticipated brand new production is set to shine on tour for the first time.

Age Guidance: 13+

Hattie Naylor’s exceptional adaptation of the best-selling novel. The Guardian

Flawless. A sophisticated beautifully written novel.” The Washington Post

One of the best storytellers alive today.” Independent on Sunday

[/blox_text] Book Tickets

[/blox_column][/blox_row]

Share: